The aim of the Learning Support Faculty is to identify pupils having special educational needs and to organise appropriate support for them so that they can be fully included within the school and community and make the most of their potential. In order for the pupils to gain their entitlement to a broad, balanced curriculum, there is full integration into the school pastoral system and a close co-operation with other faculty teams.

The Headteacher, through the SENCO, is the person ‘responsible' for ensuring that all pupils' ‘special needs' are known by all who teach them.

Provision is co-ordinated and directed by a team of five teachers, one TA Manager, two HLTAs and approximately 30 Teaching Assistants (TAs) who work with teachers to ensure the day-to-day operation of the school's SEN policy. 

Specialisms include provision for pupils with Specific Learning Difficulties (SpLD), Hearing Impairment and Behaviour, Social and Emotional Difficulties (BESD).

The Team

Ms Eva van Lerven SENCO, Head of Learning Support
Responsible for co-ordinating the provision for pupils with SEND and supporting teachers in implementing the SEN Policy.

Mrs Ann Griffin Deputy SENCO

SpLD teacher responsible for coordinating Access Arrangements and working with pupils with Specific Learning Difficulties.

Mrs Gwyneth Miller Inclusion Co-ordinator

Teacher working on an individual basis with pupils who have emotional or behavioural difficulties, and supporting staff with pupils with BESD.

Mrs Lyndsay Freeman Teacher of the Deaf

Teacher in charge of the Hearing Impairment Specialist Centre and responsible for coordinating provision for Hearing Impaired pupils.

Mrs Jo Mackay

Teacher of English working with pupils who have significant special educational needs.